Acorn Stakes Betting Guide

The opening leg of the Triple Tiara comes in the Acorn Stakes, as the most talented three-year-old fillies line-up for the 2021 renewal. But, which horses stand the best chance of winning the illustrious race?

Acorn Stakes Event Details

The Acorn Stakes is the opening race of the US Triple Tiara. The race will be taking place on June 5th this year, and there will be a prize purse of $300,000 up for grabs. This race takes place at Belmont Park and is run over one mile. Fillies that are three years old are able to enter this Grade 1 race.

Acorn Stakes Preview

Final declarations for the Acorn Stakes will not be made until the beginning of June. However, gamblers can examine the past winners of the race to spot any trends before betting on the race in 2021. The last five winners of the Acorn Stakes can be found below:


  • Gamine

  • Guarana

  • Monomoy Girl

  • Abel Tasman

  • Carina Mia


One of the most important factors to consider before placing a wager on the race in 2021 is the trainer. Bob Baffert has an excellent record in this race, as he has won twice in the past four years. Gamine was his most recent success, as the 2020 winner won in a time of 1:32.55.


John Velazquez was the winning jockey onboard Gamine, and that was his second winner since 2015. Gamblers could also look into the runners that will be competing in the Kentucky Oaks. The Grade 1 at Churchill Downs is one of the National Triple Tiara events and I could see a number of the horses look to challenge for the Acorn Stakes.


Travel Column for Brad Cox could be a leading chance to win the Acorn Stakes, as she has already won on two from three starts. Her latest victory came by two and three-quarter lengths in the Grade 2 Fair Grounds Oaks. 

Malathaat for Todd Pletcher could also have leading claims, as the three-year-old has won on all four starts so far. Success in the Kentucky Oaks would only further her claims of winning the Acorn Stakes later in the year.


Horses that are considered outsiders for the Kentucky Oaks could also have leading claims for the Acorn Stakes. One pick that almost certainly looks to be heading to Belmont Park after the Kentucky Oaks is Kalypso. 

Bob Baffert trains this three-year-old, which means that she will have leading claims judging by his past success in the race. Kalypso has won on just two occasions in her career so far from six starts. 

Her success in the Grade 2 Santa Ynez Stakes earlier in the season was tremendous form, but she has followed that up with a second in the Grade 3 Las Virgenes Stakes and a third in the Grade 3 Santa Ysabel Stakes. But, Baffert’s record in the Acorn Stakes shouldn’t be overlooked.

See the Trainer Analysis Tool for more information.

Acorn Stakes Event Information

The Acorn Stakes is an important race for fillies during the racing season. It is the first leg of the US Triple Tiara and offers a lucrative $300,000 prize purse. The Acorn Stakes is followed by the Coaching Club American Oaks and the Alabama Stakes.


The race hasn’t always taken place at Belmont Park, as it was hosted at Aqueduct previously. It was run at Aqueduct between 1960 and 1967, before returning there once again between 1969 and 1975. There have famously been two dead heats in this Grade 1, with these races coming in 1954 and 1956.


The first-ever running of the Acorn Stakes took place in 1931, with Baba Kenney winning the race. Gallorette was one of the most famous winners of the race, as she won in 1945 before being inducted into the US Racing Hall of Fame in 1962.


Abigail Fuller was the first female jockey to win the race, as she won board Mom’s Command, which was owned by her father in 1985. The only other female jockey to win the Acorn Stakes was Rosie Napravnik in 2013. 

Last year’s winner, Gamine, holds the speed record, as she completed the one-mile distance in 1:32.55. Meanwhile, Eddie Arcaro and Mike Smith are the leading jockeys, as they have both won on five occasions. 

Acorn Stakes Betting Information

The Acorn Stakes promises to be yet another exciting race in 2021. Gamblers will be able to make wagers on the Grade 1, and below, you can learn more about the markets that you can expect to bet on.


  • Win: Gamblers can wager on the horses that will be first past the post in the Acorn Stakes.

  • Place: Instead, gamblers can wager on a selection to finish in a place position. These positions will be determined by the sportsbook.

  • Exacta: Gamblers can wager on the first two horses past the post. However, the finishing order must be correct to receive the returns.